Now Exiting Your Comfort Zone

It has been said,”You can never cross an ocean unless you have the courage to lose sight of the shore.” The shore is my comfort zone, and my ocean to cross is the land between Missouri and Washington.

Comfort zones.

We all have one.

Mine consists of my home in St. Louis, my home away from home in Chicago, and pretty much anything that has to do with the friends and family I have made in those areas.

You know what is not in my comfort zone…Kenmore, Washington.

In fact, Kenmore is approximately 2,091.7 miles outside of my comfort zone.

I would be lying if I said I haven’t been feeling anxious and nervous about this move. I’d also be lying if I said that everyone telling me how much rain is in my future didn’t drive me crazy. However, I would also be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to the beautiful views (I mean who doesn’t love oceans, lakes, and mountains?), new people, new places, and new adventures.

Getting to this point has been an adventure in and of itself. I had been waiting for so long to know where this next portion of my life was going to take me. God really likes to test my patience. I’ll be the first to say I’m not the most patient person, and unfortunately the only way to have more patience is to be in situations where patience is necessary.

For two years the day of placement drew closer and closer. (Side note: I’m so glad I transferred in to CUC because I don’t know if I could have done four years waiting for the day of internship placement.) Anyway… for two years I had been praying for God to keep me open minded and be willing to go wherever He felt it was necessary to serve Him. I feel as though God looked at me and chuckled as they announced that I was going to serve in Washington.

Trust. “Do you trust me Emily?”

If you know me at all, you know I am a planner. My planner is my life and I always have a to do list for every day. So these past couple years when God has only revealed a little of his plan at a time he was really helping me learn to trust him. Chicago was a HUGE step outside my comfort zone, but it turned into one of the best things to happen to me. God provides! I made incredible new friends and got to experience things that only are experienced outside the comfort zone. It’s scary, but so worth it.

Trust God.

So that’s where I am in this process. I am less anxious about moving and ready for whatever God wants to throw my way. God has given me the peace only He can give.

Hillsong got it right when they sang,

“You are peace, You are peace When my fear is crippling You are true, You are true Even in my wandering You are joy, You are joy You’re the reason that I sing You are life, You are life, In You death has lost its sting.”

God is good all the time. All the time God is good.

I know that God has a reason for where I am going. I can’t wait to serve Him in whatever comes up.

God has blessed me with an amazing family and friends who have been more than supportive in this process and I have no doubt that nothing will change in those relationships, other than ways of communication. God called me to Washington for a reason and I’m ready to take a leap and dive in head first to this upcoming year.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid” – John 14:27

Leave a Reply

