“We Are Now Starting Our Descent Into Seattle…”

Tonight marks my first week of living in the Pacific Northwest.

I can now make it to work and back to my apartment without using my GPS (If you know me at all you know that I am terrible with direction…so this is a huge win for me)

I learned that there are freeways that have lanes that change direction during the day….who knew that was a thing…not I. Needless to say I have avoided driving those lanes in fear of driving in the wrong direction.

I was so fortunate that my mom was able to go with me for my first few days here. We went and did touristy things downtown. Went on an awesome underground tour of Seattle (totally recommend it for anyone who loves history) went and saw the public market on pike street. (That’s where they throw fish at you..) Pastor and his wife took mom and I to multiple dinners, but my favorite was taking the ferry and having sea food at this cute restaurant right off a dock.

This area is the perfect area. The city of Seattle has everything. The downtown that is busy and full of life, and the lake and mountains and the peaceful setting. It had stolen my heart from the moment I saw it out the plane window. And then I actually started meeting people.

Wednesday was the first day I went in the church for VBS. I was so nervous and then as soon as I met the first person I felt as though I was hanging out with family. Words cannot describe how welcoming, warm, and supportive people have been. The ministry team at church that I am working with are some of the most amazing people. You can just feel the Holy Spirit working. God is so cool!  I cannot wait to start my first full week this week. I can already tell this year is going to be such a learning experience and I can’t wait. I know I am in the right spot and while it was so hard to say goodbye to my family I can feel God with me and have really felt His presence this week. Thank God that he’s in charge because He sure knows what He is doing. Praise be to God for this opportunity!

 “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” -Lamentations 3:22-26

Leave a Reply

